Why We're Here

"Because writing is, much like death, a very lonely business."
- Neil Gaiman

August 8, 2013

Naruto Chapter 642 Review

Today, a fantastic new chapter of Naruto was released. It answered a few questions, drove some character development along, and seems poised to unleash some more fox-power for the heroes. It also upped the ante, as we learned the truth behind Obito's power.
My thoughts from the chapter - SPOILERS!!!
  • "Those black things." - Second Hokage. What exactly ARE those black things? Chakra? Negative emotion? A nature transformation? I'm leaning towards Ten-Tails chakra until we have a better explanation. I think it's interesting that even the Second Hokage, master of exposition, has no clue what they are.
  • Is Obito's Ten-Tails-Sage form getting larger? Are those tails or Zetsu-growth? His design is fairly busy, but I assume we're seeing the Zetsu part of his body being affected by his jinchuriki transformation.
  • Obito can actually stop Edo-tensei?! This makes him way more dangerous. HE CAN TURN JUTSU INTO NOTHING?! That was the real kicker in this chapter, Obito has a technique that defeats all ninjutsu, which means he's already immune to 99% of his opponent's techniques. Being able to defeat the Impure World Resurrection also seriously amps up his threat level. There'll be no regenerating against Obito.
  • Naruto's comment about his power in his dreams was very funny. It's very "Naruto." He's lightheartedly commenting that "He's even stronger than I am in my dreams!" Of course, this means that Naruto will be surpassing his dreams, almost literally, when he defeats Obito.
  • This is the first time we've seen Naruto's regular form in what feels like a very long time. It's also been a long time since we've seen Sage-Mode! Glad to see it's still relevant.
  • Summoning Jutsu has a time limit? Okay. I didn't know this before, but it could've been an already established fact that I forgot. Interesting.
  • It was great to see Naruto stand up for his dad, and the other Hokage by extent. Obito's really hating on Minato, and it's not fair. It was great when Naruto verbally slapped Obito, who was really getting to Minato.
  • Awesome to see them land a blow, even if it won't end the battle. Of course, this puts EVERYTHING on Naruto, unless Sasuke has a random Sharingan-Chidori or something that isn't classified as Ninjutsu. Otherwise, we'll see people magically master Sage-Mode, and I'm unwilling to believe Kishimoto would do that.
  • Great follow-up with Naruto having been collecting chakra for Sage mode, it explains his eerie silence, and some of the seemingly-random designs for Obito's defense/attack/whatever it is. It was also cool of the Second Hokage to recognize that Naruto's not stupid, or at least, not stupid all of the time. We've seen Naruto time and time again be a tactical thinker on the level of Sasuke (especially regarding his battle against Pain), if not with a more adaptive/stubborn streak opposed to Sasuke's "cool" attitude (which disappeared into ANGRY RAGE mode for a while).
  • Ah, it would appear that's Kurama's negative chakra, which Minato and Kushina reaper-death sealed, at the end of the chapter. New power-up next chapter?
  • It also appears that Minato's totally stunned to see Naruto as a sage, like Jiraiya. He truly is surpassing his father.
  • What about Orochimaru? And Madara? And Sakura? It's great to see the main plot hurtling forward like this, but we've been waiting to find out what's going on with the Kage for quite some time. Last we saw them, they weren't doing so well, and Orochimaru was going to heal Tsunade? Also, Sakura was poised to be on the level of her teammates a few chapters ago, and is already back to being a background character, or (as in this chapter) not even present. What's she doing that's so busy? As a matter of fact, what are ALL the ninja doing? Waiting like in last chapter? Maybe Obito could create more Ten-Tail beasties to keep them busy. Last thing: Madara and Hashirama. I assume they're just having titanic off-screen battles that never end? Seems legit.

No comments:

Post a Comment